CPR Certifications That Nurses Must Keep Up to Date

Updated on October 20, 2023
CPR Certifications That Nurses Must Keep Up to Date

It takes a lot of hard work and determination to become a nurse, and finally getting to put into practice everything you learn is such a rewarding experience. However, as with many medical professionals, nurses continue to learn and grow as they spend time in the industry. One area that requires them to test frequently is the area of CPR certifications. There is one CPR certification that every nurse must have—the CPR/BLS—and then there are the ACLS and PALS, depending on which area of nursing they’re in. Let’s look at all three to gain a deeper understanding of CPR certifications that nurses must keep up to date.

The BLS Certification

The BLS (basic life support) certification enables a nurse to offer life-saving techniques beyond what CPR covers. CPR is a certification anyone can get, including people not in the healthcare industry. However, BLS training is for only medical professionals and goes beyond cardiac arrest support into situations such as respiratory distress or airway obstruction.

The PALS Certification

Nurses focusing on pediatrics must have a PALS (pediatric advanced life support) certification, helping them deliver life-saving assistance to infants and children. Nurses must find a course to recertify every two years to update expired PALS certifications. Nurses with PALS certifications might work in the NICU, ICU, emergency room, or any other medical setting.

The ACLS Certification

ACLS stands for advanced cardiovascular life support, and it extends beyond CPR and BLS by using advanced techniques. Medical professionals who regularly see cardiopulmonary arrest and other cardiovascular emergencies and any healthcare personnel in the emergency medical field require the ACLS certification. Nurses in the cardiovascular medical field must recertify every two years to keep their advanced cardiovascular life support up to date.

In conclusion, the BLS certification is one of the CPR certifications that nurses must keep up to date. Additionally, nurses might also have certifications that serve best in the fields they focus on, such as the PALS and ACLS certifications.

+ posts